Guggenheim Museum among Eight Buildings by Frank Lloyd Wright Inscribed on UNESCO World Heritage List

The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum has been inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List as part of The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright, which includes eight major works spanning fifty years of Wright’s career. The designation was announced at the World Heritage Committee meeting on July 7 in Baku, Azerbaijan.

Wright is widely considered to be the greatest American architect of the 20th century, and the sites in the group inscription span his influential career. They are Unity Temple (constructed 1906–09, Oak Park, Illinois), the Frederick C. Robie House (constructed 1910, Chicago), Taliesin (begun 1911, Spring Green, Wisconsin), Hollyhock House (constructed 1918–21, Los Angeles), Fallingwater (constructed 1936–39, Mill Run, Pennsylvania), the Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House (constructed 1936–37, Madison, Wisconsin), Taliesin West (begun 1938, Scottsdale, Arizona), and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (constructed 1956–59, New York).

photo: The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York Photo: David Heald © The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, New York

- - -
Recommended For You
Shawn Lee, Electro-Soul Composer-QAmbassador
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art to Open on May 14, 2016
URHere at Travel & Adventure Show San Diego
Top Five
  • Tom Berenger-Interview
  • Emma Watson-Interview
  •  BKWine Tours
  • Acting and Vocals Video
  • Robert Scoble's Q
Now Trending
© 2020 Concierge Questionnaire